Sowing your wild oats!

The huge benefits of mental and vocational promiscuity

--

The Fetishization of Focus

When I began writing this piece, it was supposed to be titled The Power of Focus or something similarly high-minded.

Two factors drove my consideration to explore the subject of focus.

The first is that focus has never been my strong suit. I’ve silently bemoaned my proclivity for zigzagging from one task to the other like a ping-pong ball on the loose.

When I’m at the library or coffee shop, I look with subdued admiration at those brave souls who can seemingly sit still for all eternity, oblivious to the world around them as their heads are buried in a book or computer, with intense Spartan-like focus etched on their faces.

I, on the other hand, represent the polar opposite spectrum, the poster child for distracted engagement syndrome if there ever was one!

To be clear, I’m not attributing my condition to the technology-fueled distractions plaguing society, because that would be both a convenient and invalid excuse.

What I’m alluding to is my innate preference for distracted, rather than protracted engagement.

--

--

Eze Onukwube
Live Your Life On Purpose

Eze is a writer, software engineer and life enthusiast. Follow me on Twitter: @EzeOnukwube