Stop Trying to Change that Inner Voice and Start Listening to it

James Hughes
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readMay 1, 2019

--

My motivation comes from others around me achieving goals, living a lavish lifestyle and making an overall difference to our society. My own self-doubt comes from my inner voice. I make comparisons against myself all the time. And these comparisons always draw the same conclusions.

You can't do that. You’re not as talented as them. People will laugh at you. Who are you kidding?

This voice inside keeps my feet firmly grounded whilst others are floating effortlessly upwards. That was until recently. Due to a slight change of perspective, I am now experiencing far more self-worth without the accompanying doubt or embarrassment.

I didn’t stop listening to the inner voice. In fact, it was quite the opposite. I listened to it and started to ask where this negativity was stemming from. I started to want to help. Just as we would do when interacting with each other.

It is not a separate monologue dictating my life. It is me. And I listen so I know how best to manage my day-to-day life, and how to be the best me possible. For years my ‘over thinking’ had controlled and prohibited opportunities. It had prevented me from knowing my likes and dislikes, and my hobbies and fears.

Now rather than wishing I could do what others were doing, I have started to listen to that voice. And three simple steps have drastically changed its tone:

Use your mornings

Creating a routine in my mornings has seen me have more productive afternoons. Studies have proven we are at our most creative and organized in the earlier parts of our days. Use that energy and convert it into a platform to have an amazing day.

Read or listen to the news when having that first coffee instead of scrolling mindlessly through social media. We feel more included in a larger society by keeping up to date with global affairs, increasing how we value our contribution to smaller communities.

Make a list, either physically or mentally, about the goals you’ll achieve that day and how you do them. This will, in turn, create subconscious excitement about checking goals off the list as opposed to attempting to tackle a mountain of chores.

Changing vocabulary

I have also changed the words I am using in my everyday conversations. I have started to remove any words with a negative annotation. The word ‘busy’ has been replaced with ‘productive’.

“I have such a productive day tomorrow”.

Replacing the words I have been vocally using has changed my inner monologue too. The less negativity I am internalizing means the less negativity I am projecting.

Be conscious of your surroundings

Becoming more observant or my surroundings has seen my perspective change. Surprisingly it allows you to focus more on the activity than the environment you’re in by noticing the details.

Focus on small positive details and that'll increase your desire to go back to that place and relive the moment. This has been especially helpful for me in working scenarios.

For example, noticing the calm of the cafeteria at midmorning has completely altered my feelings towards being there. I am putting more into enjoying these places and therefore getting more out of them.

These three smaller steps have made me appreciate that voice and value what it has to say.

--

--