By rawpixel on Pixabay.com

Why I Swapped My New York Times Subscription For a Medium Membership

I love a good read, but the constant negativity of a daily newspaper burdens me.

Angelo Belardi
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readJul 6, 2018

--

No, it’s not due to a lack of quality in their writing or because I believe they’re reporting “fake news”. Ironically, their writing is so good that it was an article in the New York Times which rekindled my self-induced news ban and led me to quit my subscription for the newspaper.

I’ve never been much of a newspaper reader. Not the stereotypical determined reader who sits at the breakfast table, hiding his whole body behind such a large unfolded pile of over-sized paper. (Considering this, the format of newspapers itself might have kept me off them. Way too clunky. Hand me a conveniently sized book instead — thanks.)

Years ago, when I had longer train commutes to school and university, I often looked through a free printed newspaper for commuters, but then spent most time solving the daily Sudoku and crossword puzzle.

When I occasionally got more interested in a news story, I would often search for online articles in some of the most authoritative newspapers. For events concerning the US, that would be the New York Times, for central Europe or Switzerland, I’d check the Neue Zürcher Zeitung or the Frankfurter

--

--

Angelo Belardi
Live Your Life On Purpose

Researching psychologist with a passion for habits and mindfulness.