Teachings of the Old Silk Road

Erika Chaudhary
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readJan 4, 2021

--

How Travelling 16 hours on the Old Silk Road can change you

“Stones stay still. A learner, never.” — Elif Shafak

Have you ever traveled on the old Silk Road?

This road is significant because it connects the East with the West. This road comes all the way from China via Pakistan and into Europe. It’s an old trade route where all the goods from far places were delivered to “the Romans” or what we call Europe today.

This road is called ‘highway’ but it is far from actually being a highway or as we know it in the West. It’s a conventional road. The traffic flows in both directions you’ve got one lane for each direction. In certain areas, the road isn’t smooth and it is more of a dirt road rather than a ‘highway’. The road itself is bendy and windy, and it doesn’t seem to have an end.

It has spectacular views along the way it takes your breath away. I never thought nature can be this beautiful. I never thought this beauty existed in this world. I never thought I’d be lucky enough to see this. Nothing I’ve seen in Europe can come close to this. Nature, rivers, mountains, glaciers even sheep, architecture, and above all people!

--

--

Erika Chaudhary
Live Your Life On Purpose

I am a writer who learned to code! I write about personal experiences within a humanist and global context. Find me on Twitter & Instagram @erikachaudhary