The Cardinal on my Fencepost

Kirsten Telan
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readMar 26, 2020

--

The cardinal is symbolic of life, hope, and restoration. They are representative of a loved one who has passed away. When I see one, I truly believe it means they are visiting. I have found that they show up when I need them most or miss them.

I have researched the symbolism of red cardinals. As a result, I was blown away by the accuracy of how these gorgeous red birds appear in my life time and time again during periods of sorrow and celebration.

“There are times when it is possible for a little red cardinal to get our attention when nothing else can, especially in times of depression and grief. Cardinals can bring color and vitality into our lives. Their crimson color can remind us of the importance of ourselves as individuals in the circle of life.

As the cardinal red color is symbolic of faith, so it can remind us to “keep the faith” through circumstances that might look bleak, dark, and hopeless. You are a vital element in the circle of life regardless of where you are in that cycle you always have the opportunity for restoration, revitalization, and renewal. The call of a cardinal can come to cheer us up or cheer us on. The unique clarity of his call can be used to gain our attention, and lift us from our depression, our sorrow, or perhaps our ordinariness.”

I believe God loves to speak to us using all kinds of creative ways ~ even using natural signs and symbols. For me…it’s a red cardinal sighting for sure. For others…maybe not. But whatever it is, it will be something personal just for you. He can use anything to speak to us, comfort us, and reveal Himself to us. It can be a sign in our dreams, or through other people, movies, books, music, rainbows, or even butterflies.

A cardinal sighting brings me a feeling of peace, protection, guidance, and joy. When I see them, I stop in my tracks, tune in, smile, and acknowledge that one of my loved ones are around. God has used cardinals to powerfully minister and comfort me in such a deeply profound and beautiful way, especially as I grieved the passing of my dad, grandparents, and fur babies over the years.

While life in the physical sense does end for all of us, love and energy continue, so do not be surprised if your loved ones in heaven reach out to let you know they are okay.

‘May you come to find comfort in and remember: cardinals appear when angels are near.

So go now, sit outside, and keep a lookout for the little red bird~It is there, your loved one will be.”

~Victoria McGovern

--

--

Kirsten Telan
Live Your Life On Purpose

inspiring others through the Confetti Effect to spread kindness like confetti, traveler, reader, writer, hiker, encourager, blogger, growth mindset learner🙌🏻✨