The Government is Giving Money Away

Are you frugal enough to qualify?

6 min readSep 23, 2019

--

When my health insurance premiums doubled this year, I rebelled. I signed up for Google alerts on “healthcare” and “insurance” and looked everywhere for a workaround.

I thought about joining one of the health care sharing ministries or volunteering with AmeriCorps. I thought about going back to school and getting a cheap student policy.

I thought about quitting a job I enjoy and getting one with benefits. I thought about going without.

And I thought about just accepting the reality; our healthcare system is broken. It’s a drain to us all. Maybe I should ante up and pay my part. At 64, I was nearing Medicare eligibility anyway, so I’d only have to let myself get fleeced for a year.

--

--

Retired psychotherapist who loves a good story. Author of From Fear to There: Becoming a Confident Traveler https://tinyurl.com/26uhya