The Introvert Who’s Making Friends

John Tuttle
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readOct 6, 2018

--

I’ve been back to the books at a new college this semester for about six weeks now. I went from community college to a four-year college. I live seven and a half hours away from my family in a dorm which has been fondly labeled the dormitory where male introverts dwell, and the statement is more or less true.

Being homeschooled in a neighborhood with few kids my own age, my personality was formed that way. Ever since a very close friend with a rather outgoing personality passed away almost a year ago, I’ve been breaking out of my social comfort zone significantly more, due in part his example.

My dorm is like a small town; everybody knows everybody. Plus, everyone seems to need to use the restroom at the same time. I guess introverts are unique that way.

Beyond the dorm, I have those friends that I chat with in classes, at meals in the cafeteria, at church, and at other random events like Oktoberfest and Sunday brunches off-campus.

To give you an idea of the sheer number of people I’m getting acquainted with, I would safely say that I’ve made just as many friends in the past six weeks in Atchison, Kansas as I’ve managed to make in the past two decades in Rockford, Illinois.

Yes, I have a beard. And yes, that’s me with the cardboard cutout of a lady. And yes, I’m taller than the friend who’s in the photo with me to the left.

I will always cherish and love the friends I have back home. But it is so wonderfully surprising to be meeting so many amazing people. Here at Benedictine College, the majority of the students are Catholic — and practicing to boot!

Having like-minded or like-faith-ed people not only makes one feel more open to speaking their thoughts out loud but having this community of fellowship really helps to build one another up.

Even though the cafeteria food leaves much to be desired, the people working there are kind, chipper-dipper, and often have a positive thing to say to you. Many of us, the students as well as the faculty, really are there for the others. It’s a beautiful thing to see, feel, and be a part of.

I’m an introvert, and I fell like I’m doing pretty well right now as far as relationships go. If you’re feeling some student seclusion, I would merely suggest two things: be proactive in joining clubs that get you involved with the community and then, stretch your comfort zone a bit.

The more you stretch it, the more it inclusive it will become, meaning your levels of uncomfortability will eventually diminish. I’m loving the faith life and social life here. Somehow I am managing it, and so can you. You know what, I should probably be working on some homework right now.

Well, procrastination is a topic for another day…

--

--

John Tuttle
Live Your Life On Purpose

Journalist and creative. Words @ The Hill, Submittable, The Millions, Tablet Magazine, GMP, University Bookman, Prehistoric Times: jptuttleb9@gmail.com.