The Joy of Sore Muscles

I don’t feel right if something isn’t just a little stiff or sore.

Carolyn Bertolino
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readDec 7, 2019

--

Some people complain about sore muscles. I love them! Having sore muscles means I did something good for my body. It means I can eat what I want right now because my metabolism has been increased. It means I’m getting firmer and looking better. When various muscles are stiff or sore, I feel tight, toned, and confident about how I look.

When I don’t notice any tight or stiff muscles, I feel physically blah. I feel looser and less in shape. Eating a big meal isn’t as enjoyable. Also, at my age, if I don’t exercise a good amount, my cells will turn to fat easier than they did years ago.

The best way to keep our metabolism high is to use variety in our workouts. The idea is to change things up so your body doesn’t get too used to one activity. Just like in superficial relationships, our bodies are fickle in that they get too comfortable when something becomes predictable. Metabolism gets lazy and performs at lower and lower levels.

Changing up our workouts means we have more risk of muscle soreness, which I like but others may or may not. The regular kind of soreness from a new activity, that doesn’t involve injury or overuse, is called delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS). In addition to changing your workout, starting…

--

--