By the 22nd century, people can expect to live well beyond 100.

Theories of Aging

I have longevity in my genes. That scares me.

Barbara Henslee
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readSep 30, 2019

--

As a baby boomer, aging is a topic of personal interest for many reasons. I’m concerned with the future of my health, happiness, and finances as I grow older. And, I’m aware of how important it is to stay relevant and connected for the sake of my career.

I’m one of those boomers who doesn’t have a big enough nest egg to enjoy retirement in my sixties. I need to keep working to keep a roof over my head and food on the table. This isn’t a complaint. It’s just fact.

Longevity can be genetic — in part

And, here’s the kicker. I have longevity in my genes. Many of my relatives have lived long lives well into their 90s. My mother, who will be 96 years old this December, worked in an office environment until she was 83 years old.

Even using a walker, she would drive to the office and three lovely ladies helped her every single morning get her car parked and settled into her cubicle where she worked all day, five days a week, transcribing doctor’s notes for nursing homes. Prior to this job, she was a registered nurse for decades working the surgical unit of the Memorial Hospital Systems.

--

--

Barbara Henslee
Live Your Life On Purpose

Author of non-fiction & fiction. Audiobook narrator/producer. Find me on Audible and Amazon.