Photo by Larm Rmah on Unsplash

You Can (and Should) Re-Learn How to Play

Amanda Warton Jenkins
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

“The opposite of play is not work — the opposite of play is depression,” says Dr. Stuart Brown, founder of the National Institute for Play in his book Play: How it Shapes the Brain, Opens the Imagination, and Invigorates the Soul.

I am thinking a lot about this topic lately.

My digital nomad-ing has taken me 2,300 miles from home recently, in a quest for more play.

When my family and I arrived in a little ski town out West last fall, the small talk with locals went like this:

“What brings you here?”

“We love to ski.”

That answer was sufficient for most folks. They got it.

“You’re in the right place, then.”

But when we returned to our East Coast home, there was a bit more confusion.

“So, did you move out there because of work?”

Well … yes. We also went for play. But I’m usually too embarrassed to say this.

I worry it makes me sound like a flake. Someone who isn’t serious enough about getting ahead. You know, the things that really matter in life.

Regional Differences in Play

In our little mountain town, I began to notice all these differences I’d never…

--

--

Amanda Warton Jenkins
Live Your Life On Purpose

Yoga teacher, MPP UChicago "rewilding," living from the neck down, cultivating Albert Einstein's "sacred gift," intuition. My book: https://amzn.to/3mTwXlZ