The Reason Why My Life is Better Without a Watch

I don’t own a watch or a calendar

Anne Bonfert
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

My life used to be super planned. Every minute was organized. I would not leave the bed without having a watch on. And my calendar was always in my handbag. With all my appointments and meetings I had to be reminded of.

Being a young girl growing up in Germany I had way too many things on my schedule. But now, I don’t have either of it. I don’t own a watch. I don’t own a calendar or anything where I can write appointments down. And I don’t have stress. Ever.

Background

In my teens and the years of university, I had an extremely organized lifestyle. I did manage them all. All my appointments. I was never late for an appointment, a meeting with friends, a sports lesson, or any other event.

I had my life planned through. By myself. My watch and my calendar were my life. I would have been lost if I forgot them somewhere. I could have left the house without my phone but not without these two items.

My life was a way to be busy. Even though I loved my life back then. I loved organizing and managing things. Because I was good at it. I could fit so many things into one day. People admired me. My mom said I should become a manager. Of something. Or someone.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Live Your Life On Purpose

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.