Photo by Gavin Spear on Unsplash

The Sea That Lives in the Sky

Getting back to doing what you love, even when you hate it.

Pamela Ward
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readSep 19, 2019

--

I am currently in New York City! Well, I’m in Jamaica, New York, which is adjacent to New York City.

Anyways, I am here conducting an audit at JFK airport and as I sit in my hotel room after a very long day, I keep thinking about the first time I properly flew through clouds as a pilot.

This morning, on my ungodly timed flight to JFK, the airplane took off in clear skies and popped into fog a few thousand feet up.

It was just a pure white out.

Then, after another couple thousand feet, we broke out of the fog and were sitting atop the second most beautiful ocean of clouds I have ever seen (we’ll get to THE most beautiful in just a second!).

The clouds below us looked like waves off the coast of California. The air was so smooth you could barely tell we were flying. And the sun rise was speaking directly to my soul.

I am not kidding. As I sat in my window seat in the very last row of this tiny regional airplane, I swear the sun was shining into every part of my being.

I felt warm and bright.

This tin tube I was sitting in gave me the most beautiful view I’d seen in a long while.

--

--

Pamela Ward
Live Your Life On Purpose

Commercial pilot, frequent flier, weekend traveler, and aviation safety guru. I love airplanes and write about them way too much on LearnFlyGrow.Com ✈️ Cheers!