These Four Incredible Shifts Take Place When I Slow Down My Morning Routine

One day I decided not to follow the hectic morning routine and felt absolutely fantastic

Naomi Pham
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readMar 30, 2020

--

I used to have a very hectic morning routine: Get up at 6 a.m. Brush my teeth. Wolf down 5-minute breakfast. Listen to motivational videos for half an hour. Then make a to-do list and get right into work.

For a while, I felt proud of this immense productivity. I got so many things accomplished in such a short amount of time.

Little did I know I was slowly falling off the edge. Instead of finding peace, I got caught in the hamster wheel of busy-work. My stress level accumulated. My health deteriorated. I also felt much less passionate about my favorite projects.

So one day, I decided to take a break…

I went to bed early the night before and had a full 8-hour sleep. I didn’t listen to any motivational video upon wake-up. I didn’t freewrite for half an hour before breakfast. I didn’t even try to work on the first item on my to-do list.

Instead, I took my morning at a much slower pace. Treated me to a fulfilling breakfast. Then spent the next half an hour or so savoring a steamy cup of coffee while enjoying the beautiful scenery outside.

--

--