Think Back to Where You Were a Year Ago

Has anything changed?

Evans Okoro
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readDec 10, 2020

--

Daily efforts. New goals you set here and there. And all of a sudden, one year has gone by, and it’s like, where did all the time go? You try to think back at how much you have achieved, and something in you tells you you haven’t achieved enough.

You look through your notes to see those goals you set a year ago, and now you’re shocked. You have actually achieved way beyond those things, but the new goals you set made them look nonexistent.

This is my reality. This is many people’s reality too.

The things we saw as a big deal, months and, maybe years ago, have now become normal and are no longer counted as something worth paying attention to.

Yes, that’s human nature. We’re insatiable. The things we have sleepless nights over become a norm once we achieve them. Any third party watching would think that reaching that goal would be the ultimate point for you, and once you get there, you would stop worrying about anything else. All because of how determined you were, concerning that goal.

Yes, it’s good to set new goals, but do we look back at some of these goals and actually pat ourselves on the back for the progress we’ve made?

Whenever I look back at who I was a year or two ago compared to now, it always amazes me. It makes me appreciate things better and gives me the nudge to do more.

If nobody has told you, I’ll tell you.

You’re doing amazingly well. It’s not easy to get to where you are. It’s not easy to keep going. And if you do not see changes yet, trust me, if you keep at it long enough, you’ll find better ways to pull through.

Thank you for reading.

Join my newsletter here

--

--