What Is The Real Success?

What if it is about how you show up and serve?

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readDec 6, 2019

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

The trigger for writing this article and sharing my thoughts with you was the following insightful quote:

Don’t downgrade your dream just to fit your reality. Upgrade your conviction to match your destiny. ~Stuart Scot

I just thought of giving a try to detail it a bit. We all know the hustle after success. We are all so familiar with getting things done and being a high performer. Thus, I felt like sharing my philosophy about the topic! 😊

I believe that this has everything to do with growing from within. It has to do with the making of self-awareness a daily exercise so that we can diagnose our limiting beliefs and re-write the distorted subconscious program we never wrote in the first place.

It has to do with being brave enough to commit to this real journey and bear with the accompanying pain. It has to do with becoming authentic and starting living wholeheartedly as one of my favorite authors known as Brené Brown likes to call it. It has to do with centering our life on the Universal Correct Principles.

I know I am repeating myself a lot, and I hope that you will forgive me! I wouldn’t do so if I were not sure about what I am stipulating. I wouldn’t if I wasn’t a human guinea pig!

Here is a quick sample illustrating the difference between what it implies to be principle-centered versus any other biased center (I will be talking about the different most known distorted centers in the future). But first, let me give you an idea about what a center means:

  • It is from where we are getting our internal security. That’s basically why our internal security becomes stable when our center is the ‘Principles’. It only depends on the unchangeable and timeless principles.
  • It is where most of our love and investment goes.

Let’s suppose I have a kid who accidentally killed somebody when driving drunk. Because my children are my distorted Center, I will do all that it takes to protect my kid. I will bribe a killer who has been in jail almost his whole life to take responsibility for the incident. If my the ‘Principles’ is my Center, I will have been the one to accompany my child to the police station.

Your center is the foundation of your love manifestation. If your center is your children, the love that manifests from that will mostly benefit your children. If your center is the ‘Principles’, the manifestation of your love will benefit the humanity.

Upgrading our conviction to match our destiny has absolutely nothing to do with reaching global notoriety through celebrating ones’ demons through making use of one’s emotional smartness to manipulate people. It has nothing to do with being a Mediocre person and doing Great things. It has nothing to do with compromising with integrity. It has nothing to do with all this sh*t, no matter how Awesome our Achievements might seem to be…

Interestingly, we can easily get trapped in our old patterns, but with perseverance and having our discovered life mission within the process in our heart, we considerably expand the gap between the stimulus and our response, and develop our emotional intelligence: the most required skill in an interdependent reality.

We, consequently, move from being a reactive ego-driven individual to a proactive one reaching what my legendary mentor Stephen Covey calls the Private Victory. Ultimately, we become an interdependent person!

If I am physically interdependent, I am self-reliant. But, also realize that you & I, working together, can accomplish far more than, even at my best, I can achieve alone.

If I am emotionally interdependent, I derive a great sense of worth within myself, but I also recognize the need for giving and for receiving love from others.

If I am intellectually interdependent, I realize that I need the best thinking of other people to join with my own.

We are no different. We all crave the same needs, and the best way to give back to the world would probably be by getting people to feel less offended and more inspired. That’s what you can call your success!

With love, Myriam

--

--

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Live Your Life On Purpose

A fur Momma, animal lover & advocate, lifelong learner, storyteller, edutainer, and published author. I write personal stories and essays.