Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

When Things Go Wrong, Maybe It’s All Alright

Five rules on finding an opportunity while facing down life challenges

Mary Ann Lopez
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readNov 4, 2019

--

I started researching cars about a year ago because my 2007 Honda Civic was starting to show her age. I decided, by the end of 2019, I would have a new car.

I spoke it to the universe. I said, “God, Universe, I don’t know how I’m going to get a new car, or how I’m going to pay for it, but by the end of the year, I will have a new car.”

Be Careful What you Wish For

Rule №1: Be really clear about what you want because the universe has a sense of humor

When speaking things into existence, get your shit in the right order.

I say this because, within days of again saying, “God, you’re gonna get me a new car.” I was in an accident.

The crash was in no way my fault — and I wasn’t injured. I was going straight, the driver to my right attempted to turn left in front of me.

She got a ticket. My car, Maggie Mae got totaled.

The insurance company wouldn’t pay to fix her. They’d give me a check instead.

--

--

Mary Ann Lopez
Live Your Life On Purpose

I’m a writer who is trying not to take herself too seriously. Genres include personal essay, lifestyle, health & wellness, mindfulness and manifestation.