Photo by Trent Erwin on Unsplash

Why Do We Write?

Hint: It’s not about the money.

Leon Purton
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readMay 21, 2020

--

Someone recently asked, ‘should I pay a membership to a blogging platform to potentially earn money through writing. I can not afford to waste money on another side-hustle that won’t pay-off’.

I had some advice for them as to why people write, and it isn’t really about the money.

Making an investment

Their question distilled into two key themes; should I invest in this membership, and is it a waste if I pay and then don’t earn money?

The simple answer is yes, and no — but only if you realize one key thing.

You need to realize you are not investing in a money-making opportunity, you are investing in yourself.

There is no more profitable investment than investing in yourself. It is the best investment you can make; you can never go wrong with it. It is the true way to improve yourself to be the best version of you and lets you be able to best serve those around you.”
Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

I have made the same investment. I pay to be a member so I can write and share my work, and that membership is my accountability measure.

A small monthly fee is enough to remind me to sit and write when I don’t feel like it. When I know I have to…

--

--

Leon Purton
Live Your Life On Purpose

Inspired by life. Leadership, Growth, Personal Development. Engineer and Sports Enthusiast. Top Writer in Leadership leonpurton.com