Why It Might Be Easier To Make More Friends After High School

Ava Marie LaMonica
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readJun 22, 2020

--

Photo by Simon Maage on Unsplash

Before I begin, no this is not your usual, “College is where you’ll find your lifelong friends” type of spiel.

In fact, it is quite the opposite.

Being a commuter to college, I met nearly nobody. As much as I wanted to believe that cliques go away in college, they don’t.

Dormers stick with dormers, athletes stick with athletes, theatre kids stick with theatre kids, and commuters (unless you pour yourself into a specific club, program, or sorority/fraternity) usually fall outside those lines.

Yes, of course you can meet your lifelong friends in college, but for those who are wondering why they do not live up to that expectation, it is totally normal.

Growing up as an introvert, I have always valued friendships, but it took me extra time before I would become comfortable with someone. Extroverts, on the other hand, usually jump into a friendship quickly.

The biggest problem I found with making friends was that most people were not patient enough to wait for me to grow comfortable and at ease with them. They preferred a fast-moving, instant friendship with someone who had the same personality level as them.

I would never consider myself to be a loner, but I had quality relationships with a…

--

--

Ava Marie LaMonica
Live Your Life On Purpose

Screenwriter/creative writer/lifestyle and film blogger. IG: @thecelluloidwallflower. Email: lamonicaava@gmail.com