Image by author. Based on a photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash.

Why One Side of Your Nose Always Feels More Congested Than the Other

And why it’s not always the same side

David B. Clear
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readApr 3, 2020

--

The other day I tried to meditate. I put my headphones on, opened the meditation app, pressed play, and began to listen to the soothing voice: “Welcome to this guided meditation. Make yourself comfortable. Keep an upright posture and relax.”

I configured my facial muscles into a relaxed smile and sighed: “Ahh…”

“Now close your eyes and take a deep breath in through your nose,” the voice continued. I complied and took a deep breath in — through my left nostril?! “Huh?” I thought, “That’s weird. Why is all the air just coming through one side of my nose?”

“Exhale…” the voice continued.

“Seriously, what’s up with my nose?”

“Inhale…”

“Helloooooooooo? Right nostril?” I tapped on it, but with no effect.

“Exhale…”

“Jeez…. How am I supposed to meditate if only half my nose is working?!”

At first I wondered whether it’s just me. Could I still have that crayon stuck in my nose from back when I was a toddler? But no, that can’t be it. My two nostrils are taking turns. Surely there isn’t a crayon shifting from the left to the right side of my nose and…

--

--

David B. Clear
Live Your Life On Purpose

Cartoonist, science fan, PhD, eukaryote. Doesn't eat cats, dogs, nor other animals. 1,000x Bottom Writer. davidbclear.com