Photo by Drew Colins on Unsplash

Why You Should Start Dancing

Even if you don’t know how to.

Hannah Laviña
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readAug 25, 2019

--

Unfortunately, I don’t dance.

I’m fond of watching people dance and listening to dance music but I have never willingly danced. Well, except during my P.E classes where dancing is required and I’m left with no choice but to wiggle my awkward limbs to the beat of the music that I don’t like.

I happen to visit a dance studio because of a research project assigned to me by my Psychology professor. But what supposed to be a quick peek on the background of dance, turn into wonder, fascination, and a growing passion.

I watched the dancers as they dance without a care in the world inside the dance floor. They have their world where the only thing that matters is the floor, the music and the movement of their bodies. They look so free and beautiful. It seems like they own the universe when they dance. I want that. I also want to experience that.

I stood there, holding the piles of research papers in my hand, and I was so close to throwing the things in the trash and join the dancers in the studio.

Perhaps, someday I would dance. I mean — I have to. I can’t bear the thought of growing old and never having to experience the elation and freedom brought by dancing. I am mostly fascinated by ballroom dances such as jive, cha-cha, tango, samba, salsa, and swing.

Ballroom dance is a set of partnered dances. What’s interesting is that partnered dances have this kind of entity wherein each dancer develops this kind of intimate understanding to move with a burning passion in synchrony with the music which is necessary to show the art and convey the expression.

If you haven’t tried ballroom dance, it’s probably time to visit a studio and have dance lessons. I will go through one of the best ballroom dances that you should try. These are jive, swing, cha-cha, and tango.

Why you should learn Jive?

Photo by Byron Stumman on Unsplash

First of all, Jive is fun.

Jive is a rhythm dance that evolved from the 1930’s dances such as jitterbug and lindy hop. The music is in 4/4 time with a lively tempo. Jive was probably the most amusing dance since it involves a lot of footwork movement. It’s all about twirling and jumping and skipping and a whole lot of smiling.

You can also go from easy jive to super-extra jive performances. It’s entirely up to you. Jive is less rigid and less serious compared to other dances like salsa and tango. To me, jive is more of like a play than it is a dance. It’s fun to watch people jive but believe me, it’s more fun to jive.

What about Cha-Cha?

Taking a step backward after taking a step forward is not a disaster. It’s more like a cha-cha. — Robert Brault.

Photo by Isaiah McClean on Unsplash

Cha-cha is a flirtatious dance. It is a dance of Cuban origin introduced in the 1950s. I believe you are already familiar with this dance since it has the most basic footwork pattern, “two, three, cha-cha, one”. Cha-cha is a flamboyant, playful dance and what I find cool about cha-cha is that it is very easy to learn.

Almost every party, or events that I have been to, cha-cha is the most common dance performed by the people. But cha-cha is more than just taking a step backward and forward. Of course, you can be creative and add some spice to the basic pattern of the dance. In dance movement such as cha-cha, the impression is key.

Have you tried Tango? If you haven’t, Here’s why you should.

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

First, you need to buy yourself a pair of tango shoes.

Tango is just undeniably romantic. The first time I watched the tango dance, I was overly compelled by the intensity brought by the movement of two bodies in perfect synchrony carrying enormous passion and emotion. Tango is like a romantic story told not verbally or in written words but through dance.

There are elements of connection, elegance, and intensity of motion that uniquely set the mood of storytelling. If by some means you have a romantic story may it be lovely or painful that you want to tell, but couldn’t find the words to, maybe it’s time you should tell it through tango.

Swing once in a while.

Photo by Ardian Lumi on Unsplash

Swing dancing was most popular in the 1930s and 1940s and still continues today. There are a few different styles of Swing dance that you can choose from if you are serious with Swing dance. You can also take dance lessons.

Either way, you can always swing. It’s as easy as that. It doesn’t matter if you do it the right way or not, just do it anyway. You can be messy with swing. You can twirl to absolutely anything and let yourself get lost with the music.

Aside from the physical benefits of dancing, it also promotes psychological and mental well-being. It helps you to be more aware of the moment and be more connected with the people. It reduces stress, lessens anxiety and depression and boosts your confidence. You can own the universe when you dance. You can let go and be free when you dance. And you can always choose to dance even if you don’t know how to.

Every day brings a chance for you to draw in a breath, kick off your shoes, and dance. — Oprah Winfrey

Here’s a Youtube video of one of the best dance performances that I have watched.

Shut Up and Dance — Walk the Moon Cover Ryan Boz and Alexis Garrish

--

--