Will Your Life Story Become a Best-Seller? šŸ“˜

Sylvie Soul
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readDec 17, 2018

--

My boyfriendā€™s daughter chose me as the subject of her biography assignment for school. This was a challenging undertaking, not so much for her, but for myself, as I struggled to think up exciting points in my life that she could include in the biography.

Iā€™ll be the first to admit that I havenā€™t had the most exciting existence.

Sure, there were things events that took place that are outside the norm (moving from the United States to Canada; going to my motherā€™s wedding in Italy) but these had all seemed incidental in nature.

On my own, I hadnā€™t really embarked on a lot of fascinating things in my journey from child to teenager to adult.

I was the good kid that followed the rules, did everything right, handed in her assignments on time. I was the teacherā€™s pet. The bookworm. The girl who stayed home and played video games and wrote fanfiction online. In other words:

I was pretty boring.

After presenting my vanilla life to her class, BD regaled me and her father with interesting stories about the topics of her other classmatesā€™. Some were elected officials, others spent their childhood in Taiwan, one even appeared on Oprah! My exploits felt downright dull by comparison.

It got me thinking ahead to my goals and what I intended to accomplish in 2019. My website is in full swing; I still write for Medium, but Iā€™ve been pitching my writing to other sites in order to gain exposure.

So far, my endeavors have been hit-or-miss; for every guest post that I landed, Iā€™ve gotten twice as many ā€œThanks, Iā€™ll passā€ messages from editors or just radio silence.

But thatā€™s okay! Itā€™s all part of the journey. One of my goals is to build up my email list to a respectable number (if youā€™re reading this as part of my newsletter, thanks much! šŸ˜˜), and to rewrite my YA manuscript entirely.

I would also like to get paid for my writing on a site that isnā€™t Medium, where personally I think the shoe will eventually drop on its unprofitable payout scheme.

All these things take work and commitment.

Iā€™m not waiting until New Yearsā€™ Eve to make my resolutions. Iā€™ve started planning now: Iā€™m learning how to use an editorial calendar, Iā€™m keeping of list of potential writing topics, Iā€™m getting serious on my branding and how I portray myself on social media.

Because eventually, I want the biography of my life to involve me as a published author.

What about you?

What do you hope to accomplish in 2019 that will lead you to craft the life story that others will clamor to read?

ā™© ā™Ŗ ā™© ā™Ŗ ā™© ā™Ŗ ā™© ā™Ŗ

Hit the Clap one time, hit it twice,

Oh! Ah!

Feedback is nice. šŸ’–

SIGN UP if you want to be the first to read my posts (I will never share your info.)

--

--

Sylvie Soul
Live Your Life On Purpose

She/her. Former fanfiction writer turned published author, providing insight for the aspiring writer. Buy Me a Coffee https://ko-fi.com/X8X8IB92