Writer’s Fatigue: How to Write More by Doing Less?

7 tips to overcome burnout

Eglė Račkauskaitė
Live Your Life On Purpose
6 min readAug 11, 2020

--

Photo by Abbie Bernet on Unsplash

The last time I had a vacation for more than a week was a year and a half ago. I don’t complain, but eventually, freelance writing wears you off. It’s not writing itself, but rather the pressure to land and retain clients.

In the past few months, I’ve been feeling exhausted. A lot of companies cut their budget and moved content writing in-house. Getting new clients became more complicated, and each month feels like a race.

Nevertheless, I feel inspired. In addition to freelance writing, I also write guest posts to my favorite blogs, articles for my own blog and Medium, eBook, and a novel. But soon, I started to crave a break.

I couldn’t concentrate, generate new ideas, each new idea was worse than the one before. I felt that maybe it was time to look for something else.

But I know that I don’t want to do anything else besides writing, so I dug deeper into the problem. I noticed that I had a similar fatigue a year ago when I wrote all kinds of content: copywriting for a jewelry company, articles for blockchain, fintech, and SaaS companies, newsletter, and social media posts.

My writing was in havoc, and so was my will to continue. But the moment I settled down with a few satisfying projects, I have rejuvenated again.

While now my topics are much more in tune with my niche, I believe that I’m not the only one who experiences writer’s fatigue.

There’s so much information online about forcing thousands of words a day, writing each second of your time, and breaking records. Then, it doesn’t surprise me that so many great writers don’t feel like writing. Because they are exhausted!

If you find yourself in this position, here are a few things that helped me stand up on my feet a year ago, and hopefully, these tips will help you, too.

Via Giphy.com

Ways to combat writer’s burnout

Find what feels good

When you wake up in the morning, are you excited to start writing, or would you rather eat a raw onion and rub leftovers in your eyes? I know it sounds terrible, but sometimes some tasks make you feel helpless and clueless.

The days I’m the most excited to start working are when I have to write about feminism or freelancing.

I know a thing or two about these topics, and I want to share it with the world. But I also do a lot of work that doesn’t inspire me much, yet it’s okay as long as it brings money.

Evaluate your workload, what makes your creativity spark ignite, and what blows it off? You probably can’t achieve a complete comfort zone with your work, but by eradicating a few exhausting projects, you can create a much more enjoyable work routine.

Can you make it pay?

What is your passion list? Is it writing romance fiction or perhaps pouring witty words into a copy? No matter what it is, that makes you happy, as long as you can figure out how to make money out of it.

When I started writing full-time, I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to make money, so I looked for companies in prosperous niches such as tech and banking.

Although I love writing, I couldn’t force myself to do it for too long. I decided to risk and follow my passion.

In the beginning, I struggled a lot because I had to create a new portfolio, find potential clients, research the new field. But it worked.

What I mean to say is that, if you’re willing to research the niche, you’re genuinely curious about it, and can find interesting points, you will find your audience that will be willing to pay money for your words.

Find the purpose of writing

Perhaps your goal isn’t about money. Money is important, but many writers don’t seek to earn millions, they want recognition or to share their experience with the world.

When you have a goal, you have a direction. If your goal is to pursue your passion, then don’t waste your precious creativity on writing about the things that exhaust you. Otherwise, you will soon reach burnout and start questioning your writing.

Build a writing formula

As much as writing is a skill, it’s also a habit. Most of the successful writers have their writing routines. A routine comes together with a writing formula. It’s hard to write about anything without a plan.

Of course, you can wait for inspiration to hit you, but it’s tricky, and usually, it comes naturally when you start writing. Build a routine based on your most productive time, and build a formula that gives you direction.

It’s challenging to start from a blank page, and much easier when you map your ideas, build a keyword list, and determine a goal of the piece.

Cut down on some writing

Even if you’re not a writer, you probably write at least 500 words a day. It’s emails, text messages, posts, and notes. It seems trivial, but it also requires mental power and drains your creativity.

First, it can be distracting. One look at your phone screen can cost you up to 20 minutes to bring your focus back on a task. Second, having a lot of mediums at once takes your attention away because our brain sucks at multitasking.

If you’re writing an article, finish it before you head to emails. Writing emails, texts, notes, or articles takes a different level of focus and knowledge.

No one says you should block all the triggers, but limiting your writing to one task at the time can help you overcome writer’s fatigue.

It’s okay not to write every day

I know that half of Medium writers would disagree, but writing isn’t the only thing that should matter. You should enjoy at least one day a week without writing and working, and two days would be even better. Let your mind rest and change its focus.

You won’t be less of a writer if you stop worrying about the next chapter, copy, or article once in a while. Just let yourself be, watch a show, hang out with friends, take a nap. It’s all good as long as you don’t overthink about writing.

Take a vacation

When people think about freelancing, they imagine that freelancers have all the freedom to work half days, go on vacation whenever they want, and sip margaritas at the pool. Some of us do that, but most of us do that with a laptop in their hands.

Freelancing is a personal business that depends on you. It inspires you and, at the same time, obligates you to show up. There’s always something to do, improve, write, edit, email… And there’s no right time to take a vacation. But do yourself a favor and don’t be like me without taking a vacation for so long.

You’re a freelancer for a reason, so enjoy it. And no computer at the pool! As much as your brain needs those few days a week to rest, it also needs longer periods to reset. Vacation is a great way to relax, clear your mind, and come back inspired.

As I finish this article, I’m also finishing my day. I won’t write anymore today, and I’m going for a run. Because in the end, all these breaks and routines help you produce more and quality content. And if you feel stuck, forcing yourself will only make it worse.

--

--

Eglė Račkauskaitė
Live Your Life On Purpose

Living my best life in the Canary Islands | Freelance writer passionate about FemTech and freelancing.