5 Tips to Surviving a Remote Internship

Jubril Alade
Livefront

--

Due to unforeseen circumstances, my senior year at Saint John’s University was brought to an abrupt halt. COVID-19 struck, and I had to finish my second semester remotely. The consequences of the pandemic profoundly impacted the economy, and job opportunities were few and far between. Just as I was losing hope, I was offered a position by Livefront as a Software Development Intern.

Receiving the opportunity was a blessing, but I knew it would be a unique challenge. At that point in time, I had a few months experience doing schoolwork remotely, but working a full-time job remotely was very intimidating. If you are preparing to work remotely for the first time, like I once was, follow these 5 tips, and you’ll undoubtedly succeed.

Tip #1: Prepare yourself for day 1

During a previous internship prior to joining Livefront, I was working with three other software development interns. Overall, I had a great time! I learned a lot, and gained experience working within a professional environment. However, it’s sufficient to say, we didn’t always know what we were doing. And as a result, we rarely utilized the best software development practices.

I knew that interning at Livefront would be a very different experience. I would be the only intern, and I’d be working with primarily senior-level developers. I knew that prior to my first day I’d have to refine my skills. So, I signed up for an online iOS bootcamp and brushed up on the skills I’d need to succeed.

Preparation made all the difference. Do your homework before your first day on the job. It’ll boost your confidence and allow you to hit the ground running.

Tip #2: Create a routine to maximize your efficiency

I’ve always found it easier to work in a dedicated office space. If you share the same feeling, working remotely might be jarring at first. You’ll find that there are challenges and distractions that might interfere with your work.

While working remotely, my challenges included taking care of a 9-month-old puppy and fighting the constant urge to sit on my couch. Nonetheless, I conquered those challenges with self-discipline, just as you will conquer yours.

I believe a key to my success was routine. You should create one and stick to it every day. Not having to commute to work means you’ll have more free time in the morning. Use that time wisely. Exercise, meditate, make breakfast; do something that gets you in the zone and ready for a productive workday. If you roll out of bed minutes before work, your performance will reflect it.

In addition to routine, I highly suggest creating a designated workspace at home. Mine is at a desk in my bedroom, and I treat it as my own mini office. I’ve trained my brain to associate the workspace with productivity. Do the same, and you’ll notice your workflow increase.

Tip #3: Accept that you have a lot to learn

The longer I worked with full-time developers at Livefront, the more apparent my own experience/skill gap became. They worked faster than me and discussed concepts I had never even heard about. If this happens to you, don’t feel discouraged. Remind yourself that they got to that level through hard work, and you can do the same.

Being honest about the things you don’t know is critical. Pretending you know more than you do only leads to wasted time and embarrassment when you’re asked to prove it. If you don’t know something, don’t be afraid to ask. If you’re as lucky as I, the full-timers will be more than happy to help.

In the end, be proud of what you know, and be ready to learn more. Remember that practice makes perfect, and one day someone will be asking you for help.

Tip #4: Become one with the company culture

Working remotely shouldn’t stop you from having fun with your coworkers. Reach out and work with as many people as you can. Doing so builds great relationships and allows you to learn from multiple sources. It also gives you a great sense of the company culture.

At Livefront, a message board (Slack) is used to communicate with one another while everyone is working remotely. One channel on the board is designated for posting remote selfies around a fun daily theme. At first, I didn’t post many selfies, but as I became more comfortable within the work environment, I began to participate more frequently.

I became one with the Livefront culture and had a ton of fun doing it. I encourage you to do the same for your place of work as it will enrich your overall experience.

Tip #5: Have something to show for your work

Surprise — the point of working is to actually produce work! Over the course of your remote experience, you might lose track of all the things you’ve done. I suggest creating a document to track your accomplishments and the things you’ve learned.

Now that I’m nearing the end of my internship at Livefront, I can easily go back and reference my document to remind myself of the many things I’ve done, and how far I’ve come as a software developer.

Conclusion

In the end, I had an amazing remote internship experience. I was faced with challenges I wasn’t sure I could handle. But thanks to my personal resiliency and the great leadership around me, I was able to thrive in the unfamiliar position. From the opportunity, I became a better person and a better software developer. The lessons I learned at Livefront will stay with me for the rest of my professional career.

If you are still stressed about starting your remote internship, don’t feel bad. Know the feeling is normal. But, also know that you will do just fine, and that you will succeed. There will be challenges and distractions along the way, but if you stay focused and work hard, there is nothing you can’t achieve.

--

--