Complicate Me

TJ Mercury
Mercuryandthearchitects
3 min readJan 19, 2018

Lyrics

If you’re leaving let me follow
Chasing pain and what we’ve broken
You’re so worried bout tomorrow
That you’re ruining the moment
In the darkness getting loaded
I don’t feel you when I’m faded
Cuz desire built the liar
Anything to get you naked
Anything to make you fake it
I’ve been loved and I’ve been hated
Fuck the consequences stated
I’ll destroy what we’ve created
Cuz the truth is what I made it
Never told you that we’d make it
Wasn’t smart to trust my heart
But never thought that you would break it

A sober view was older news
The truth is I ain’t over you
And if the moment’s hopeless
Maybe we can build a world for two
What you expect a man to do
When no one else compares to you?
And goin crazy ain’t the only thing
That I’m prepared to do
Picture two paths picture two directions
And choosin between the painful truth or my intentions
Cuz I’m tryin baby I’m tryin not to live as fast today
The moment keeps surviving
Does it mean the past has past away?

Don’t you care about nothing
Just cuz nothing is easy
And you’d rather love no one
Before admitting you need me
Believe me
Believe in me
I’m trying hard to rewrite me

To redo we
To redo everything
That we have grown to be
Complicate me

I swear you try and lose me
Look through me before you see me
When I tell you that I love you
I love that you never believe me
When’s the last time it was easy
What’s the last line you remember
Cuz the dark keeps getting darker
Falling harder than November
Different night the same pretenders
Different fight the same contenders
We came from nothing
Creating something new
Like two inventors
But two different agendas
Put the pressure on your future
Would you rather walk alone
Or admit you fell for a loser
I’m trying not to abuse ya
Trying not to confuse ya I’m tryna be the man
That refuses to ever lose ya
Im tryna understand what it takes
To plan tomorrow
Might be living in the moment
But I’m dying in this bottle
So understand me
Understand the man I can’t be
Understand where life is going
Walk a different path then chosen
Walk the path that we have broken
Burn the bridges
That we’ve burned before
The ashes of desire through the fire
Love endures

Don’t you care about nothing
Just cuz nothing is easy
And you’d rather love no one
Before admitting you need me
Believe me
Believe in me
I’m trying hard to rewrite me

To redo we
To redo everything
That we have grown to be
Complicate me

Music by TJ Mercury, Art by Chelsea Rae

--

--

TJ Mercury
Mercuryandthearchitects

Poet- Music Artist- Songwriter- Producer- Founder of Mercury and the Architects.