Going East: Atlantic Canada

Urooj Qureshi
Living Being
Published in
2 min readJun 3, 2012
Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse, Nova Scotia. Photo credit: Dennis Jarvis

In just a few hours I will be heading towards the eastern coast of Canada. Rising at 3:30am a friend and I will hit the road before sunrise to make it to St. John, New Brunswick, and set up camp before sun down. We will drive 12 hours straight with a just a few pit stops along the way to get to the Maritimes where the real adventure begins.

There are several reasons I choose to go on this trip before leaving Canada. Firstly, as a Canadian, I would like to get know more about my country first. People from the east coast are considered to be the friendliest people in the world. I can’t wait to experience the warm hospitality, the beautiful landscapes, and the delicious, fresh cooked lobster dinners!

This trip is also an opportunity for me to test my gear and preparedness on home ground. I already know that once I return from the east coast I will need to lighten my backpack. Hiking in Cape Breton I will try and simulate the physical experience of walking the Camino de Santiago, in northern Spain (later in June).

My friend and I had planned to visit New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia, all the way up to the tip of Cape Breton. However, it seems to enjoy the trip and get to explore the best of the Maritimes we’re going to have to drop PEI ( Sorry PEI — I owe you a trip!).

Did I mention we’re camping “most” of the trip? Brrr. I hear it’s still cold out east!

It’s going to be a memorable journey. Stay tuned for stories and photos of a great Canadian adventure!

About The Author

Urooj Qureshi is pro Adventurer and storyteller. Follow his adventures on Instagram @uroojqureshi.

Originally published at http://www.living-being.com on June 3, 2012.

--

--

Urooj Qureshi
Living Being

Founder and Principal at Design Centered Co. by day, and passionate adventurer, amateur anthropologist, and proud father. Let’s discuss #impact.