You Are Enough

Kate Sutherland
Living From Heart
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2021

--

(Photo by Anastasia Shuraeva from Pexels)

When you wake up
Does your mind begin to whisper
before your eyes have even opened?
I need to get up
I should do a workout before breakfast
I have to reply to that email…

Instead, teach your mind to greet you softly:
Good morning, welcome to another day.
I am alive!
I am grateful for…

I am enough

When you stand at the mirror, brushing your teeth
Do your thoughts drive along old familiar terrain,
Tires stuck in ruts of negative conditioning,
harmful patterned habit?
Look at those bags under my eyes,
My God I’m getting old, all those wrinkles…
Maybe that sagging jowl would go away if I drank more water
or exercised more

Does your hand reach up to smooth the lines
Pull the skin tight beneath your chin,
As you yearn for the return of fleeting youthfulness?

Do your hands find places on your body
In the shower
At the gym
Sitting on the couch
I wish this part was harder, stronger
All of this is

--

--

Kate Sutherland
Living From Heart

Song-writer, artist, Kung Fu teacher. Practices "Living from Heart." Short stories, poetry, articles on self-exploration, wellness lifestyle, embracing beauty