Yes, It’s Scary to Talk About Your Creative Dreams

But you’ve got to be okay with other people not getting it

Danielle Godfrey
Living Honestly

--

For the last few years, I’ve had an underlying worry about people asking me about work. About what I’m doing, what I want to do, and, if I’ve expressed my lack of passion for a current job, what my plans or ideas are for finding work I actually want to do.

To this date, I’ve not found a job or ‘career’ that feels truly right for me, instead, working a bunch of jobs that fit my circumstances at the time but never reflected any real dream or career-plan.

I know a huge part of that is because I have a long-standing dream of working for myself, at home, as a full-time writer. It’s always been the dream.

I’m getting better at telling people about this dream, mostly because if I didn’t, they’d look at what I’m currently doing for work (part-time housekeeping) and wonder why I’m not doing more with myself. Wonder why I left my previous job in a school to clean 2 days a week for minimum wage.

However, if I know I’ll be seeing family or friends I’ve not seen in a while, I expect to be asked about work, and I still find it so difficult to articulate what I’m actually doing or aiming for with my writing work.

--

--

Danielle Godfrey
Living Honestly

On a constant quest for zen. Words from my heart to yours ✨