The Bones of an Honest Man

A Departing Soul

Chaitanya Gupta
Living In a Fake Entity

--

A faint light had found its way in from a window which was clumsily covered by brown paper. It was clear that the occupant of the household didn't invite light and preferred to spend time in dim surroundings or with artificial light from a gas lamp.

The Sun however has its way of delivering light even to the darkest of the places and so when the sun rose to its strongest, more of light found its way into the room and it was illuminated enough for eyes to decipher the details.

It was a small kitchen containing about four counters for various appliances and a sink. It was narrow so there wasn't a space for a table. It was a fetch and go room and in a lavish house it could have been a laundry room or a broom room at best but this was a small condo in one of the more modest districts of the city and such a space was enough for its only occupant. The leaser was an old man living on subsidized rent, a man who was tethering towards the end of his existence.

A kettle was boiling for a while in the dingy kitchen but no one took any notice. Finally it let out a whistle and fell to the floor. The stove continued to run until the smoke alarm in the next room clicked in and the emergency valve in the gas pipe shut it down.

The firemen barged in to find that the old man was lying in his bed with a letter on his chest. His soul had departed leaving behind what it did not bring with it.

The Letter contained some money and a request from the man that his funeral be held and he be buried.

The old man seldom came out of his condo and lived a largely isolated existence. He never had any visitors and there wasn't a record of him ever getting married. It seemed that he knew no-one and vice-versa.

After an empty funeral his bones traveled to their final resting place. A seemingly pointless exercise as he was already where he wanted to be, Into the oblivion of the highest energy…

Yet his bones told a story, that of an Honest Man.

Isolation

Walking on the streets on my own,

Watching people living an existence so absorbing that it consumes them,

It pains me & makes me a lone,

The society grows colder everyday & I struggle to understand it,

I did what was asked of me but paid the ultimate price of failing to find any peace within myself,

How & Why I didn't find another soul to share my experiences I do not know, Just couldn't find the right fit,

Is there anything that I have to show for in the end ?

The Bubble of emptiness grows so large in my chest that my heart feels swollen,

And I now look in the mirror at my heavily wrinkled face and look at my body & my bones,

They are the bones of an Honest Man,

And that’s all they've ever been,

Ready to be freed back into the earth while I depart from my lonely existence to the so called heavens….

Please do recommend & share if you enjoyed it !!

--

--

Chaitanya Gupta
Living In a Fake Entity

NYU 16', Product Manager. Here to tell you stories from Data. Follow me on @Chaitanya_90, LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/in/chaitanya-gupta-3277154