Medical cost in AU (optometrist, GP, emergency)

Jiwei Sun
生活在澳洲 Living in Australia
3 min readMay 3, 2024
Photo by Patty Brito on Unsplash

Unexpected Medical Expenses as an International Student in Australia

Moving to Australia as an international student, I never anticipated the frequency with which I’d use my health insurance. Yet, here I am, having navigated multiple medical issues — from eye problems to emergency room visits. This article shares these experiences, detailing the costs involved and offering insights into navigating Australia’s healthcare system with student insurance.

Medical Inquiry

Medical personnel typically inquire about insurance coverage, but it’s also appropriate for you to mention it upfront.

1. Eye problems (Chalazion)
Lack of sleep and prolonged computer use often cause me eye discomfort, an almost inevitable issue as I study for my law degree.

While it’s usually recommended to visit an optometrist before seeing a general practitioner (GP) in Australia, as a student with student insurance, it’s more economical to see a GP directly because optometrist fees are not covered by my insurance.

However, it should be noted that with optometrists, your eye is more likely to be comprehensively checked given that they tend to have thorough ophthalmic instruments.

(1) Optometrist Visit (not covered by OSHC)
Initially, I visited an optometrist in Brisbane to address my Chalazion. Unfortunately, my condition did not improve after the visit. The optometrist suggested using special tea tree foam to clean my eyelashes, costing $36.25. The consultation fee, including the eye check, was $89.

(2) Campus GP Visit (covered by OSHC but not the medication)
Since optometrists cannot prescribe medication and my condition persisted, I subsequently visited a campus GP.

The consultation cost $41.20 per visit, covered by my Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), though medications were not. The cost of GP services can vary significantly outside of campus; for example, another clinic charged around $90 per visit.

Medication costs also vary, with differences as much as $7 for the same medication at different pharmacies (Chemist Warehouse tends to be less expensive).

2. Emergency Treatment (covered by OHSC)
One night, after accidentally bumping my head against a glass door, I required emergency treatment at a hospital. The cost for stitches and an injection to prevent infection totaled $603.30, covered by my OSHC.

Notably, when seeking emergency services, you may need to present your passport to claim insurance coverage, so it’s wise to have these documents handy. (I also brought my student ID but I forgot whether it was required or not)

Conclusion
Always claim your medical fees before leaving a medical facility if they are covered by insurance. I would not say everyone needs insurance because some people may not even use it for once throughout the whole period if they are lucky. However, we can never do too much to prepare for a rainy day. If purchasing an insurance is not financially feasible for you, please take extra care to your well-beings.

Living abroad can be challenging sometimes. I sincerely hope all my readers maintain good health and achieve their goals especially in a foreign country.

--

--

Jiwei Sun
生活在澳洲 Living in Australia

🎓JD Candidate at Bond Uni ✈️Former Qatar Airways Cabin Attendant🏛️Government Project Executive💼Digital Advertising Executive🎙️Radio Station Host