A New Trip Around The Sun

Stella Samuel
Living Inside the Vulnerable
3 min readJul 5, 2021

--

Today is the last day of this trip around the sun. I hope I get to make many more… but fewer as brutal as this last one has been (if I could make a request).

I’ve learned a lot in these years of crisis and the past six months of trauma more than any other time I can remember. It’s interesting how little credit we give to adult growth and the ignition of empowerment that comes at a particular stage in adulthood. We give so much credit to babies and children for their cognitive and personal development, then we send them off into the world with the title of adult and assume the figuring out has occurred.
I have faced fear, rejection, deceit, and so much more in the face, willing time to freeze so I can get off the crazy train and settle down by a peaceful brook where I no longer have to look at the world. Life doesn’t afford many of us the power to walk away stepping into peace. So I continue to face it, and the only way out is through it all.

Someone told me recently on an extraordinarily difficult, nostalgic day, “Once today is over, it’s over. You’ll get through it; then it will be tomorrow.”

The cynic in me thought, well, tomorrow I’ll just feel the same, so what’s the point?

The point was I have to get through it. One step, one minute, one moment, one day, one holiday, one birthday, one memory…

--

--

Stella Samuel
Living Inside the Vulnerable

Stella Samuel is a women’s fiction and children’s literature author, editor, script coordinator, writing coach, and believer in smiles. StellaSamuel.com