Denise Larkin, BA (Hons)
Lifestyle Today
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2021

--

Thank you for your article on Acholic liver disease. I am sorry to read about your father passing of ALD. My brother died at age 42 from ALD. He was warned that his liver was in trouble long before it got worse and his GP helped him to stop drinking. He admitted himself into a place to get off alcohol but after two weeks it failed because they stopped his medication abruptly. We didn't understand why. But it caused him distress and he was very depressed too so he just gave up and carried on drinking. Eventually, he died.

I also have type 2 diabetes and I was told I had a fatty liver but I only drink a couple of glasses of wine on Friday and Saturdays. It did worry me and I was wondering whether I should give up drinking forever. I think type 2 diabetes makes everything worse in the body especially if a lot of alcohol is being consumed. Diabetes can speed up the process of many other illnesses or at least that is what I understood when I was first diagnosed. Both my parents suffered from diabetes too. My father was type 1 and my mother type 2. Plus my two other brothers are now type 2 but the brother who died of ALD was never diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. My point is, having diabetes can make every other illness much worse so I did wonder whether my brother had type 2 diabetes but was never diagnosed with it.

I wrote about my brother's problem with ALD on Medium sometime ago here: https://medium.com/living-lifestyle-news/drinking-alcohol-regularly-can-ruin-your-health-and-your-life-it-ruined-my-brother-ffe26dea0a93

--

--

Denise Larkin, BA (Hons)
Lifestyle Today

Mastodon: @dlarkin121@me.dm An author/writer of fiction novels and poetry living in London writing about her experiences on Medium. dlarkin121@gmail.com