5 Ways to Stay Sane While Keeping Up with the Hustle

When work-life changes from eight to eighteen hours per day, a few lifestyle changes can save you from going insane.

Sujona Chatterjee
Living Out Loud
4 min readJun 24, 2021

--

“I grind. I hustle. I don’t have time to get no haircut”.

— Baron Davis

These are troubled times, and where I live, some people are making ends meet by working twelve to eighteen hours a day. They cannot afford to be replaced as we all have families to feed. People are working tirelessly in fear of losing their job and are becoming machines as a result.

What happens in the process is that we become drained. We lose all energy. Breathing doesn’t seem effortless anymore, and even if there is a moment’s stillness, we start feeling restless.

Recently I had a conversation with a friend who is in this sort of situation. Here it goes.

Me: How are you?

Him: Working like there is no tomorrow.

Me: Do you ever take a break?

Him: Not really. I pause to eat, and then once it’s 11:00 PM, I just shut my laptop and crash on the bed.

Me: When was the last time you enjoyed a cup of coffee while staring out the window?

Him: That’s like a dream. But I know what you’re trying to say, but I need to give the best I can because I really cannot afford to take it easy.

Me: I understand entirely. But I feel you’re working to a point where you will start hating your work, and trust me, that isn’t the place you want to be.

Him: Yeah, got any ideas that can help bring back my sanity?

We all need to set a time and recharge if we need to keep up with the hustle. These are testing times, and if we need to survive, we must give it our all. But to stay till the finish line, these are a few things that can help.

1. Dine with Nature

The only time my friend could even afford to take a break was during meals. Then the best way he could rejuvenate was to cut out all gadgets while eating his meals. This way, he could be mindful of his food and give him a chance to connect with nature and enjoy nature’s music provided by birds and the occasional breeze.

2. Get Inspired

There is a term in economics known as ‘diminishing marginal utility’ that means

The Law of Diminishing Marginal Utility states that all else equal, as consumption increases, the marginal utility derived from each additional unit declines.

In simpler terms, too much of something leaves a sour aftertaste. Similarly, working constantly will soon lead us to lose interest and feel demotivated. I then advised my friend to watch something inspiring for just five minutes. It could be anything he likes. This will give his mind a much-needed break and recharge his tank of creative juices.

3. Play Soothing Music

Playing Meditation music or tropical house music in the background while working helps to calm you down. Try the YouTube channel ‘The Good Life’. I asked him to keep something soothing playing in the background. It helps to focus and reduce anxiety levels by tricking your mind that you’re working from the beach. I know, sounds crazy, but we all got to do what works for us. Even if hypothetically, working from a beach sounds ridiculous.

4. Hydrate Hydrate Hydrate

I suggested investing in an attractive bottle that motivates him to drink water. We forget to hydrate when working for long hours. Water acts as the best recharger. When we take a moment to gulp down a few sips, it’s like watering a plant on a hot sunny day, and you can see how happy the leaves turn while water seeps through the soil.

5. No Gadget Weekends

After surviving the grind for six days a week, once Sunday finally arrives, it’s time to rest. It could be sleeping the entire day and rise to eat. That’s okay. But keeping all gadgets at bay is required to charge our battery levels to face another week that’s ahead of us.

So, to ensure he maintains his sanity, here are a few ways that helped him cope. The conversation yesterday was —

Him: Thank you, these tips helped a lot. I am so grateful to have you around. It just makes me realise that no matter how tough life gets, close friends always find a way to make it easier.

Me: Hang in there; this too shall pass.

Him: Pray it passes soon.

Dear reader, inclusion to the Medium Partner Program is currently not eligible for Indian writers. If you enjoyed reading this article, please consider buying me a cup of ‘coffee’ here.

Thanks so much for your time!

--

--

Sujona Chatterjee
Living Out Loud

Living life the only way I know how — one day at a time.