Boys Grow Up. Men Mature

It’s that simple.

Kim Petersen
Living Out Loud
Published in
6 min readJul 12, 2021

--

Don’t shoot the messenger.

I expected a defensive reaction from my husband when I told him I was thinking of writing an article about the immaturity factor seen in many grown men today. And I’m not talking about men in their 20s or 30s here. I’m talking about men who have been around long enough to handle their shit.

And a woman.

You know, like Gen-Xers and beyond.

“I’m gonna write about men who don’t grow up.”

Husband laughed. “Hell yeah, but you’ve got it wrong. Every boy grows up. Only men mature.”

“What do you think makes the difference?”

“Simple,” he said. “A lot of grown men still think like boys and respond to the world and women as if everything revolves around them. Men who mature release the need to be in control of anything or anyone else but himself.”

Interesting.

It sounds as if the determining factor between grown-up boys and mature men resides in the realm of emotional maturity, and let’s be clear — women everywhere experience men who lack maturity on the dynamic front.

Look, I know we’re all different.

--

--

Kim Petersen
Living Out Loud

Award-winning & Bestselling Author | HH Prac. (Hol.Meta.Heal) | Writing About Soul. Love. Humor. Spirituality. Life. Relationships | https://kimpetersen.com.au/