Confession

Kamay Williams
Living Out Loud
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2021

I unmasked a face of love to a closed door

woman praying towards the sky
Photo by Diana Simumpande on Unsplash

I must have mistaken our late-night talks

for you telling me

you were tired

of loving in the dark

Today

I banged and called out

You heard me loud and clear

yet you acted just like the rest

when I ask them to give as much as they receive

Today

I received no answer

This is not new to me

I am used to men

who leave

when they realize

I am not broken enough

to hand myself to them in pieces

anymore

I know how men like you think

They hate a whole woman

who they cannot pick apart

and choose their favorite pieces of

while leaving the rest of them behind

You know

the demanding kind

The type that asks for too much

as if you tolerating her presence is not enough

Today

Reminds me of every other day that I said too much

That I took up space unauthorized

That I overflowed

Today

The old me showed up in my place

And begged you to see her as someone beautiful

And when I saw this

I cried

I realize

today

has happened before

The familiar prayer for love comes to the forefront of my mind

but instead of reciting it the way I always would

I decided to replace it with someone new

I say to the sky

That tomorrow will be a new day

That today was just a storm to weather

That this is my last day being swept away

Into the place

Of wanting to hand my heart through a closed-door

--

--

Kamay Williams
Living Out Loud

Passionate writer, professional imaginative, and lover of all things that seem unattainable.