Ecstasy

Suma Narayan
Living Out Loud
Published in
1 min readMay 23, 2022

A poem

dancing
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

That I can’t help myself
That there is this wave of madness
And a swelling cloud of unbalanced ecstasy
That fills my innards
And travels over my body in waves upon waves of heat
And contractions and expansions
Leaving me shaken and bruised
Sore and exalted
Flying, careening out of control
And crashing to the ground
And lifting me off the ground
And threatening to batter me into a million pieces
That would then dissolve into the air
And drift away in a mass of bird-drift feathers
That would briefly, briefly, briefly
Impinge on the consciousness of humanity
And then be lost forever.

This, I know
This, I feel
This, I expect.

©️ 2022 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

Shoutout to Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms), for this piece with its glorious combination of excerpts from Australian poems, great photography, and her innate compassion for all created beings.

--

--

Suma Narayan
Living Out Loud

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160