Every day, he says it’ll be alright

That’s where we are now

Margaret Sitawa
Living Out Loud
Published in
2 min readJan 10, 2023

--

Photo by Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

Deep in sh!t

I look into his eyes, and I see
the sadness, the fear
the hope, the prayers
will we make it?

Deep in debt

He looks into my eyes, and he sees
the desperation, the loss
the fatigue, the faith
will it change?

Every day, he says it’ll be alright
that’s where we are now
in this dark valley
we desperately want to get out of
We are at that place
the one between a rock and a bottom

But this man still dreams. He speaks
of wealth when we have nothing to eat
talks of good things like we deserve them
walks tall when all I feel is cast out

This man still believes in a future
that shines amidst this gloomy present
still makes plans for a time I doubt will come
comforts me while he’s broken and torn

He forgets all his troubles
when I can’t stop thinking of mine
they’re already over for him
and the future is right here

And I feel safe with him
This spirit, this grit
this man, this reality

This is the man
the man I follow

Thank you so much for reading. Join Medium here for more stories like this.

--

--

Margaret Sitawa
Living Out Loud

You'll find poems and stories with a personal touch here. Whatever you'll find, is my truth.