“I See You,” The Meaning Behind Those 3 Little Words is Deeply Rooted in Our Past

We all are history, and history is us.

Gerthy Bingoly
Living Out Loud

--

Grayscale photography of a black woman with yellow tears.
Photo by Lucxama Sylvain from Pexels

The world’s a big place, a giant ball of green and blue, harboring life, harboring us, humans. More than seven billion souls roam the earth, indulging in daily activities and experiencing life in a thousand different kinds of ways. In a world so crowded, the meaning of those three words, “I see you,” takes a lot more weight.

What defines you as a human being? What is the difference between you and me? What does it mean to be you, and what does it mean to truly see? If I were to introduce myself, I would be tempted to say that I’m a computer engineer, as well as a writer. It is not false, but is that truly all that I am?

When we introduce ourselves, we tend to focus on the present, on what we’re doing at the moment. We label ourselves with a job title, sometimes as a cat lover, and so many more. When in fact, what makes us the unique being that we are, is our past, or rather the choices we’ve made.

You are the compound of your experiences. We all are. And to truly see someone is to see past the shell of the present, past the flag of the future, to reach History and what lies within.

--

--

Gerthy Bingoly
Living Out Loud

I’m on an infinite journey, losing and finding my way now and then. But I’ll leave my marks here, for anyone, like me, who needs a lifeline.