If We Meet and You Don’t Look Like Your Pics, You’re Buying the Drinks Until You Do

Yes. I stole this line.

Julia E Hubbel
Living Out Loud
Published in
4 min readDec 16, 2020

--

My Medium buddy Roz Warren used this in a story a while back, and I warned her I’d steal it. Took me long enough.

Problem with online dating is that because the above is now the norm, perhaps this is why we’re a nation of addled singles.

Sadly, as a teetotaler, I’m stuck with reality. Nobody gets more handsome as the night wears on.

Photo by Callum Hill on Unsplash

This is what typically shows up, and still looks like that later. It is a slight improvement, but not when said Mr. Wonderful promised “athletic and toned.”

The holiday season of any year can be rough going for singles. They eye with envy those who just got engaged and who plan to celebrate their June nuptials. Of course, depending on vaccine distribution, the wedding may be on Zoom, and the final kiss may end up giving new meaning to “air kiss,” as well as a honeymoon in distant separate suites, giving new meaning to “safe sex.”

What a difference a year makes. While Covid may still be spreading its black holiday cheer, my guess is that the STD…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Living Out Loud

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.