Menstruation Day Off

A holiday for menstrual cramps? That is just ridiculous to even consider!

Monika
Living Out Loud
2 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Yes, it should be considered because —

Each individual who menstruates may experience varying degrees of discomfort and even distinct stages of pain.

If you are fortunate, you will not feel a thing; if not, you might want to visit the nearest medical service provider to overcome that pain through medication.

“In India, the statement regarding the menstrual cycle comes in the highlight. Kerala, which is the southern state of India, comes into the limelight when Several colleges and universities in Kerala, have decided to provide women students with paid menstrual leave. The Kerala government had previously stated that it was thinking about allowing women to take menstrual leaves at all state universities, that are the responsibility of the Department of Higher Education”.

This is the toughest day for a woman/girl, and I applaud our Kerala government for recognising it.
I can relate to the significance of that time away and empathise with the pain I can not bear alone.

My period used to pass without me noticing any discomfort, but as I have gotten older, the menstrual pain has become unbearable, along with the accompanying mood swings, tender breasts, panic attacks, and other symptoms of hormonal shifts.

When I was a kid, things were very different. For this reason, I do not understand why some people claim they are unable to work because they are menstruating. But I have to admit that I do not know. I had to learn the hard way that the only way to learn is to do so on my own accord, which is exactly what I did.
I am hoping that other groups see this as a positive development and take note. Workplaces should be made more secure and accommodating for employees who experience menstruation.

Thank you so much for reading. Join Medium here for more stories like this.

--

--

Monika
Living Out Loud

I am a motivational Writer!! Content Writer!! Chemistry Lover !! Poetry Lover!!