The Magic of the Quill

Let the inner stirrings of magic begin.

Kim Petersen
Living Out Loud
Published in
7 min readNov 30, 2021

--

I've got this thing about animals that cross my path and mainly take note when I happen upon a rarity, like that gorgeous echidna above.

Whether animals visit us in our real life or dream world, I believe it is seldom a coincidence and that their appearance always holds meaning relevant to our life journey.

Like a messenger that appears in the form of an animal — a spirit animal.

In certain spiritual cultures, a spirit animal refers to a spirit that helps guide or protect a person on a journey and whose characteristics that person shares or embodies.

Native American spiritual culture tells us that "the spirit animal chooses us. Creating a bond allows the spirit animal to offer healing or "medicine" in the form of guidance, protection, power, or wisdom. We are not limited to one spirit animal in a lifetime; we can have multiple spirit animals come in and out of our lives, each providing us with unique knowledge."

Take the echidna. In my years living in Australia, I had never seen an echidna in the wild until recently when I pulled into my driveway and spotted the spiky little bundle right outside my home.

To say that I was delighted is an understatement.

--

--

Kim Petersen
Living Out Loud

Award-winning & Bestselling Author | HH Prac. (Hol.Meta.Heal) | Writing About Soul. Love. Humor. Spirituality. Life. Relationships | https://kimpetersen.com.au/