The Most Important Thing I Learned in College

It had nothing to do with my coursework

Trudy Horsting
Living Out Loud

--

Photo by Pang Yuhao on Unsplash

As a child I imagined college as a place where you go and learn everything about the world. Everything that the adults around you already know. All of the mysteries and secrets you haven’t even yet to fathom.

I imagined all who graduated college being well, for lack of a better word, smart. They understood all of the mysteries of the world and had a secret glimpse into the true reality that I didn’t have yet.

Then, I went to college.

And the most important thing I learned during my four years of undergrad was not anything I learned through course material. The most transformative piece of information I captured was that there are an infinite amount of questions to be asked about the world. There are an infinite number of mysteries, concepts undiscovered, and questions unanswered. There is no ending to learning.

If undergrad is your last stop for formal education, and you feel complete in what you needed to learn academically in your field, there’s still more to learn.

If you didn’t go to college but have gained practical life experiences instead, there is still more to learn.

--

--

Trudy Horsting
Living Out Loud

Writer. PhD Candidate. Frugal Traveler. Passionate about health, personal growth, and saving money.