‘We Don’t Need No…’

Suma Narayan
Living Out Loud
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2021
Photo by Irene Jiang on Unsplash

They’ve boarded up the windows:

They’ve shut the source of life,

They’ve locked the door that leads to light,

And thrown away the key.

The young people who I ‘teach’

Who teach me more than they know

Look at me with terror-filled eyes

And want me to explain.

Why light is forbidden to them,

But darkness never is,

Why laughter is a source of sin,

But frowns are always in.

How people who have ‘learnt’ a lot,

Don’t know what ‘learning’ means,

Why love of laughter, and light itself,

Must always be proscribed.

Why thoughts and dreams are frowned upon,

But mediocrity encouraged,

Why questioning a teacher,

Makes her feel she’s failed.

Why lit-up hearts are a threat,

But inanity never is,

How teaching a lion to baa like a sheep,

Results in better score-sheets.

I tell them I have no answer

That I have lit a lamp,

And if they wanted to, they could

Light their own from it.

Was that too little, too late?

Because they have

Boarded up the windows:

They’ve shut the source of life,

They’ve locked the door that leads to light,

And thrown away the key.

©️ 2021 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

Prompted, in part, by this no-nonsense piece of brutal frankness, by another teacher, GB Rogut:

--

--

Suma Narayan
Living Out Loud

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160