You’re Born With Your Purpose And You Find It Over Time

The only way people find their passion.

Khadejah
Living Out Loud

--

Photo by Anete Lūsiņa on Unsplash

For so long, I’ve wandered the Earth anxiously trying to find that thing.

That one thing that I’m meant to do.

That one thing that will give me elation when I wake up in the morning.

I used to hear stories of celebrities who knew their passion at birth. Michael Jackson was the lead singer of the Jackson 5 since he was eight. Kobe Bryant entered the N.B.A. straight from high school. This chef named Rock (who won Season 3 of Gordon Ramsay’s Hell’s Kitchen) knew he wanted to be a chef when he saw his grandmother making food in the kitchen as a kid.

It seemed as though 18 was the cutoff point to find your passion before you get a one-way ticket to folding tortillas at Taco Bell.

As soon as I turned 19, I knew I was done for.

I infatuated myself with YouTube videos of a kid my age who found his passion for film in high school and accumulated over 100,000 followers. He went on to become a successful entrepreneur. Like, what? Everything just came so easy to him.

--

--

Khadejah
Living Out Loud

I write about life lessons, writing, social justice, and productivity. New articles published weekly. Follow me on Twitter :https://twitter.com/KhadejahJ22