Aviva Wapner — VeHadarta

Originally from Toronto, Canada, Bat Sherut Bodedah 2017–18

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life
3 min readOct 25, 2018

--

Where did you do Sherut Leumi?

I did sherut leumi at VeHadarta, an organization that has branches in many cities around Israel.

Can you explain a little bit about the organization?

The goal of VeHadarta is to bring friendship and assistance to elderly people suffering from loneliness and isolation.

What was your role in the organization?

As a bat sherut, I was paired with several “Savtas” who I visited every week, as well as helping out in Seniors’ home.

Why did you choose that job?

I chose VeHadarta because although I had never worked with the elderly before, I was interested in giving back to the older generations who are such a vital, significant portion of Israeli society.

What did the application process look like?

The application process was smooth and simple. I signed up online for a sayeret (an interview for Sherut Leumi), and met with the Rakezet (supervisor)for an interview.

What did a typical daily schedule look like for you?

My daily schedule was different each day of the week. Twice a week, I began the day at a Seniors’ Home where I spent the morning involved with the residents’ activities. Most days, I bused from house to house, visiting my “Savtas” and doing a large range of activities with them. Some needed help carrying groceries up the stairs and others just wanted a partner for a game of Rummikub. Over time we got into a routine and I knew what to expect when I visited each Savta.

What was your favorite part of the job?

My favorite part of the job was hearing stories of my Savtas’ incredible pasts. Some of them had made Aliyah later in life, and told me all about their lives growing up in America. Others were in Israel for the founding of the State, the 6 day war, and other famous events. Hearing what they had lived through was truly a valuable experience for me as an Olah Chadasha (new immigrant).

Tell us a story of a time you feel that you really made a difference?

When my Savta’s grandson got engaged, she told me sadly that she wouldn’t be able to attend the wedding. She explained that it was simply too tiring at her age to navigate large social gatherings, and to travel alone without any support. She then asked if I would be willing to accompany her. I was happy to attend the wedding, and even happier when I saw her and her family’s joy when she walked into the wedding hall. I ended up attending another grandson’s wedding with her, and it was clear what a difference it made for her and her family.

What was your greatest challenge in the job?

As a bat sherut bodedah, my biggest challenge was keeping in touch with family and learning to be independent in Israel.

Living far away from home was hard, but definitely worth it for the amazing year I had.

--

--

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life

Owner of “Living That Bodedah Life” Blog from The Bnot Sherut Bodedot Program at Nefesh B’Nefesh with Adventures of Avital