Chaya Cooper

Mother of Yael Cooper, Bat Sherut Bodedah 2017–18

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life
2 min readJan 10, 2019

--

As they say, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”.

I still remember vividly how my daughter Yael took her first step to making her home in Israel. We received a phone call towards the end of Yael’s year of seminary, asking how I would feel if she made aliyah and moved to Israel. I remember feeling awestruck and spend a few minutes gathering my thoughts and accessing my feelings. Now that it’s two years later, I can answer as follows: yes, I miss her like crazy and feel the distance in mileage, but when I gather my thoughts, I am so so proud of Yael’s decision. She is living her personal dream.

Yael spent her year working in the Yad Sarah program with seniors. Her work included assisting with activity programs and home visits to offer friendship and companionship to offset the feelings of loneliness on the elderly. She secured numerous friendships and the experience strengthened her as a person.

For me, I am just amazed and proud of her helping others at a time when she is facing challenges of living in a new country.

One of my challenges with Yael being a Bat Sherut is that I am not able to help her navigate the challenges she faces. I pray that others will be there for her and work with her with patience and kindness in helping her with planning and decisions. Letting go as a parent is one of the hardest parts of parenting. But then again there’s no manual for parenting.

My mantra is to love them always. Yael we are so proud of you and your decisions. I see how this experience has helped you develop confidence and finding purpose in every action. I couldn’t be happier for you!

Love, Mommy

--

--

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life

Owner of “Living That Bodedah Life” Blog from The Bnot Sherut Bodedot Program at Nefesh B’Nefesh with Adventures of Avital