Elsa Sebag — Carmel 6000

Originally from Paris France, Lone Bat Sheirut from 2019–2021

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life
5 min readJul 13, 2020

--

Where do you do Sherut Leumi?

I do Sherut Leumi in a nonprofit organization called Hilma Tech in Jerusalem, in their branch Carmel 6000. This is the portion of the company for girls with a religious exemption from the army.

Can you explain a little bit about the organization?

Hilma was founded 3 years ago by Yossi Tzuria and Yisrael Yagel. They wanted to take their vast technological knowledge and use it to improve society as a whole. Hilma develops applications for charitable organizations, including Misrad Hachinuch, hospitals, Yad Vashem, and the like. It is staffed primarily by Bnot and Bnei Sherut in order to teach the future generation of Israel the goal of making the world a better place through tech.

What is your role in the organization?

My job is a full stack web developer, which means I develop apps in their entirety, alongside my team. I’m currently developing my third application. I’m currently a developer, working on my third project. Next year, I’ll also be project owner, and therefore will be in charge of following the project every step of the way, making sure it’s progressing well and in the right direction, so the app really does match what the client needs.

Why did you choose that job?

I wanted a two-year job from the start, and as soon as I heard about Carmel I knew that’s what I wanted to do. It’s an amazing place where I get to learn new things every day, as well as help people in a meaningful and long-lasting way. I wanted a two-year Sheirut, where I would both learn new things every day and help in the best way that I could.

What did the application process look like?

The application process was very rigorous. It started by sending all our grades from High School ensuring that we took the necessary courses in order to work in high tech. Then there was an aptitude test online ensuring we had the correct work ethic and quick thinking skills. After we passed that phase, we were given materials to study pseudo code (the theory behind coding). We came into the offices and took a 6-hour test on pseudo-code and logic puzzles. Then if we did well enough, we got an interview with two of our bosses here at Hilma. If they liked us and thought we would work well with the team, we got in.

What does a typical daily schedule look like for you?

I start work at 9 am and end at 6 pm. During the day, I work with my team members on the application we are assigned. We code new components and debug ones that have already been written. We have meetings with our clients and with the design team. On Thursdays, we have a day of learning with our teacher to deepen our knowledge of the technologies we use on a day-to-day basis. We learn more functions as well as what is going on behind the scenes in a computer.

Tell us a story of a time you feel that you really made a difference?

The first project I worked on was a project for ALUT (an organization for autistic people of all ages). They have a house system, and the timetable they used wasn’t clear and was confusing the interns. Our app was designed to make the schedule simpler and clearer for everyone. When we went to show them the app and explain how it worked, we actually got to see the people who needed it, and that’s the first time I fully understood why I had been working so hard the past few months, and how much easier their lives were going to be thanks to our project.

What was your greatest challenge in the job?

The summer before the official start of sherut, we had a seven-week intensive training to teach use basic coding. This was a hard time for everyone since we were learning a minimum of twelve hours a day, but it was especially hard for me since I couldn’t get any emotional support from the girls who were learning with me. I had trouble communicating with them properly since it was my first time in an all-Israeli environment, and could not fully take part in conversations or bond with anyone. The first three weeks were especially tiring, afterwards we moved into the sherut apartment and I really got to know the people I was working and living with. These challenging times definitely helped improve my Hebrew, and I am now used to talking in Hebrew all day long.

What was your favorite part of the job?

I’m all day long surrounded by smart and passionate people my age. Everyone brings their own personal thing to the project, and are willing to make a difference. I can always find someone willing to help me solve a bug or pushing me to get over that one scary thing I have to do. Being constantly in an atmosphere where people are always looking to improve themselves and the world has definitely taught me a lot, both about others and myself. I now know that I’m capable of way more than what I originally thought and that learning new things and trying new stuff will always come helpful and is always interesting. Carmel 6000 has made me aware of the limits I have put myself in terms of what I think I can or can’t do, and is slowly teaching me to push past them.

My “Class” of Sherut Leumi

--

--

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life

Owner of “Living That Bodedah Life” Blog from The Bnot Sherut Bodedot Program at Nefesh B’Nefesh with Adventures of Avital