On the Front Lines Against Covid-19

Batia Chekroun, a Lone Bat Sherut from France, does her service in the Emergency Room at Hadassah Ein Kerem Hospital.

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life
4 min readMar 25, 2020

--

How is it day to day now that Covid-19 hit the country? How did it affect you?

The whole ER has changed. They set up a large room to receive patients with suspicion of Corona where they do a test and, as a result, send them to the hospital or back home. I won’t lie, I’m a little scared too. Nothing about this virus is certain. I’m protected all day and it is insanely hot with this protective gear. despite everything, I won’t stop coming and helping. The Bnot Sherut here are essential and we really are considered part of the team -even more so during this period of Corona. I feel they need us even more, and I’m here to give them a hand even if it sometimes means staying longer hours to help.

Do you deal with patients that are suspected to have Covid-19?

I mainly assist the staff by giving them the equipment they need to care for those patients. Otherwise, I attend to “healthy” patients that come in by taking their vitals.

There have been posts about donating masks and gloves to hospitals, is there enough protective equipment there?

There is not only a problem with the lack of protective equipment, but all kinds of medical equipment are running low.

There was a campaign the other day where Israelis went out onto their porches and clapped for the medical personnel in the country. How does it make you feel seeing the entire country come together to thank you for what you’ve been doing?

I am very grateful. These people have recognized the good that the medical staff is doing, fighting in spite of the difficulty. It gives me the strength to go back to the ER to work and fight the virus.

On the flip side, how does it make you feel to hear about people not listening to the Ministry of Health and not staying home?

I understand that it is annoying to stay quarantined at home and not go out like you are used to, but it lacks respect for the medical staff who are working day in and day out to fight this. There are doctors at my hospital that are taking 48 hour shifts to care for patients. They are not only putting themselves in danger but when they go home to their families they are endangering their family.

After hearing all this, I have to ask, what makes you continue to go to work every day?

I am simply in love with this work, I feel like I am making a difference, I feel significant, I am learning so much, the doctors and nurses on my staff are like my family, and it’s fun.

Why did you choose to work in the hospital in the first place and how does this affect your decision to continue working in the medical field in the future?

When I was choosing a place to work, I didn't want to work in a hospital or do anything connected to the medical field, but I really didn't know what I wanted at the time so I told myself I have nothing to lose. I went for an interview at the hospital and fell in love with the place, so I accepted a job there. Clearly, my opinion has changed and I love it. I feel like I am really helping to save a life and after my service, I want to volunteer with MADA to be able to save more lives.

So great that you ended up loving it and found your path! But it’s an intense job with pressure and stress. What do you do to unwind?

Yes, the job is very intensive but I don't really have something particular that I do. Right now I'm learning for the Psychometry and a lot of times I go to hang out with friends. Now with the new restrictions, I have a friend who lives nearby who works in the hospital with me so we hang out a lot now.

Now that Pesach is coming up what are your plans?

I was supposed to fly back to France to be with my family and that isn’t happening. It is all for the best. I work in a hospital and do not want to endanger my family, so I prefer to stay far away from them right now. I still don't know what I’m going to do for Pesach now, maybe join my friend and her family.

Interview by Avital Weisinger of Adventures of Avital

--

--

Lone Bnot Sherut
Living That Bodedah Life

Owner of “Living That Bodedah Life” Blog from The Bnot Sherut Bodedot Program at Nefesh B’Nefesh with Adventures of Avital