It won’t kill you.

Antonia
Living The Life
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2017

Contemplating love, life & mortality

My friend and I looked at each other when the German consultant surgeon blurted those words out. Being who I am, I chuckled a bit. “That’s good to know”

“It won’t kill you”

So later that day, I start to think more about those words, strangely comforting in that moment, but now, another light.

What will kill? Stage 4 Cancer? A road accident? freak accident? Lightning? Shark bite? My friend’s husband would point out later. Sin, that’s what.

Matthew 10:28

Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

While sin breaks and kills things, God makes alive. There are only two things for us to do. Repent, turn to God and love others as God empowers us to do. The promise is sure and has nothing to do with your behavior.

Romans 4:16

So the promise is received by faith. It is given as a free gift. And we are all certain to receive it, whether or not we live according to the law of Moses, if we have faith like Abraham’s. For Abraham is the father of all who believe.

Sin is what causes us to behave badly, once the root is dealt with at the cross, the fruit aligns itself automatically. In Christ, nothing can kill you.

John 10:28

I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand.

“It won’t kill you”

So if this thing won’t kill me, what am I to do with the life I have?.

Ekpemi,

It won’t kill you to be patient

It won’t kill you to be longsuffering

It won’t kill you to rejoice

It won’t kill you to be faithful

It won’t kill you to not envy

It won’t kill you to not be irritable or angry

It won’t kill you to not take pleasure in evil

It won’t kill you to not be proud

It won’t kill you to not demand your own way

It won’t kill you to be kind

Love is forever.

unsplash.com

--

--

Antonia
Living The Life

*Eternally Loved* Daughter of the King. Edo princess. UX evangelist, Designer