7 Top Tips for Tucson Van Life

Living the #vanlife is easy in Tuscon

Greg Heil
Living the #Vanlife

--

Photo: Greg Heil

“So, where are you from?” the conversation inevitably begins. It’s a question that I can no longer answer easily, so I’ve had to come up with a reasonable stock reply.

“Oh, Colorado mostly, but I’ve been traveling full-time for about three years now.”

“Where do you spend most of your time, then? Colorado?”

Hmm, I had to turn that one over in my head… because over the past few years, it definitely hasn’t been Colorado. What do I say — “Oregon?” “Everywhere and nowhere?”

“Actually, now that you mention it… I guess I spend most of my time here in Tucson,” I replied with a laugh. “This is the third winter I’ve come back to Tucson. We rented a condo here for three months last winter, and we’ll be here for at least a month this year, if not longer. So… I guess you could say it’s Tucson.”

I’ll admit that realization caught even me by surprise, but it was most definitely true. But this year, our experience of Tucson turned out to be eminently different from 2021. Instead of living in a condo in the city, directly off a beautiful paved bike path and walking distance to a whole array of restaurants and other amenities, we were full-on #vanlifing. We spent the month of January circling the city using a variety of…

--

--

Greg Heil
Living the #Vanlife

Professional writer, full-time traveler, and avid adventurer. Chief Editor of Summer Content, FATMAP.com