Weather the Storm

Julia Coplan
Living Un-Edited
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2019
Music — My Prayer for You by Alisa Turner

This is the ongoing journal of my personal awakening and that of the Love YOUniversity (TM) tribe with the help of The Love You Method (TM). Through up to date and un-edited realness, I hope to help you walk through your own awakening with more balance, love and ease in all core areas of life and business.

Photo by Julia Coplan

This morning I had a difficult time getting myself to sit down and write. Lately I’ve been experiencing waves of sadness that seemingly aren’t connected to a specific cause or trigger that I can pinpoint. I’ll be doing something in my normal daily routine and suddenly there it is again — a feeling of sadness that I can’t explain.

That’s where I found myself this morning, suddenly sad for no observable reason. In my life I rely heavily on observation and understanding. I’ve always been academically oriented and have thrived in intellectual pursuits. But in this situation, I can’t rely on my intellect to get me through. Logically I know that sadness won’t hurt me, that it’s ok to feel it. But logic doesn’t apply here — I can’t reason myself out of these feelings. That wouldn’t change them or make them go away.

And so, once again I practice the process of sitting with myself through these difficult emotions. Learning to weather the storm whatever comes up. Building the necessary muscles bit by bit.

Which is why I sat down to write today even when it felt like the hardest thing in the moment. It was exactly what I needed. In taking a few minutes to put pen to paper, a few minutes to express what was going on inside, I was better able to sit down with it. Better able to listen and then allow it to run its course.

I’m so grateful that I can always come back to my journal to let whatever I feel stuck in flow out through my pen and onto the page. From there I can find my flow again and move on to the next emotion that is waiting for me.

Waves of sadness
crash over me suddenly,
seemingly out of nowhere.
They take me by surprise
and I go under,
unsuspecting,
gasping.

The mystery sadness
is there in a moment,
when just before
things were normal,
neutral.
Where did it come from?

My throat tightens
and the tears come.
I can’t connect the dots.
There is no discernible logic
behind their origin.

I want to understand,
to explain.
Understanding is my safety zone.
I can rely on my intellect,
trust that it will be there
at a moment’s notice.

But intellect doesn’t help
with this feeling.
I can’t explain it away.
All I can do is weather the storm.

How long will this last?
When will I see the bright sky again?
When will the clouds break
and allow the sun to peak through?
I don’t know and that scares me.

It’s ok,
We’re ok.
I reach out my hands
to these scared voices within.
You are not alone.
We are here together,
always.

No matter the storm,
however big
or scary it may seem,
we can weather it,
together.
We will come out the other side,
stronger.

Julia Coplan, an intuitive artist, uses dance, photography and writing to move through the extreme isolation of mental turmoil by connecting with her body, inner guidance and higher consciousness to remember that we are never truly alone. As a guide with Love YOUniversity ™, she guides healers, coaches and artists in becoming irresistible to love, money, purpose and joy through awakening. Connect with Julia at loveyoumethod@gmail.com to sign up for a complementary 30-minute solution session to help you get clear on your next steps in magnetizing yourself to next-level relationships, purpose, prosperity and joy all areas of life and business.

--

--

Julia Coplan
Living Un-Edited

I use intuitive art and expression to get unstuck from mental chatter and allow creativity to flow.